Player select:
IL DIVO "Papalin" --- Papalin's Music Performances [日本語] [English]

Home > John Jenkins (1592-1678) > Suite for viols

John Jenkins (1592-1678), English composer, was born in Maidstone, Kent, and died at Kimberley, Norfolk.

Jenkins was a long-active and prolific composer whose many years of life, spanning the time from William Byrd to Henry Purcell, witnessed great changes in English music. He is noted for developing the consort fantasia for viols, being influenced in the 1630s by an earlier generation of English composers including Alfonso Ferrabosco the younger, Thomas Lupo, John Coprario and Orlando Gibbons. Jenkins composed numerous 4, 5, and 6 part fantasias for viol consort, almans, courants and pavanes, and he breathed new life into the antiquated form of the In Nomine. He was less experimental than his friend William Lawes; indeed, Jenkins's music was more conservative than that of many of his contemporaries. It is characterised by a sensuous lyricism, highly skilled craftsmanship, and an original usage of tonality and counterpoint.

ID: W228
Logo of work W228

John Jenkins (1592-1678)

* Released: 2011-1-2;
* Genre: Composer:J, 03-Renaissance, 04-Baroque, 12-Recorder(Ensemble), 38-Instrumental Music

M013 top

Suite for viols

* Play: high / normal / low ; * Time: 04:30; * Released: 2016-8-21 (J)

1. Almain

* Play: high / normal / low ; * Time: 01:26; * Played: 177 (J)

2. Ayre

* Play: high / normal / low ; * Time: 01:32; * Played: 174 (J)

3. Corant

* Play: high / normal / low ; * Time: 01:32; * Played: 172 (J)

* Please use navigation at top of this page to return to top page.
* Songs in this page can be played using Adobe Flash, Windows Media(R) Player, QuickTime Player, iPad/iPhone/iPod touch, Android. * Please refer links in top page about the players.
* normal/low/high on `play' button represents transfer bit rates. Please select higher bit rate to play with high quality sound.